top of page

Sheltowee Trace southbound -failure

If you plan on hiking for several miles over the next two days, you best make sure that you eat a good breakfast, replenish your calories often and try not to make too many miles. Especially if it is your first trip in several years with the terrain as strenuous as the sections of trail we attempted.

I however didn't listen to this advise and because of that I ruined the planned 2 night 3 day trip for Josh and I.

I will plan better next time and shoot for shorter days to start with.

My Osprey Atmos 60AG pack seemed to be comfortable once I got it dialed in as Josh called it. It was heavy, mostly due to the winter clothes I had to pack for the temperatures that was projected for the two nights.

I enjoyed the trail very much. The blazes was well marked and the condition of most of the trail was great, except for the section just south of Pine Creek Church down to the Sinking Creek suspension bridge. The ATV use in the area have ruined the trail for the hikers. If the people would ride responsibly and not destroy the trail for the rest of us, it would be deeply appreciated.

We made pretty good time on the trail, we was able to get to the trail head on highway 80 by about 9 AM and was able to make it Pine Creek Church by about 12:30. We stopped and took a snack( I should have ate more) and adjusted my pack, because my shoulder and back had began to hurt. After the adjustment my back was much more comfortable, but unfortunately the damage had already been done.

The next two miles or so down to the Sinking bridge wasn't as hard, but apparently ibuprofen on an empty stomach doesn't bid well. We stopped and refilled our water from the branch dumping into Sinking Creek. Continuing on across the bridge and up the next grade which was riddled with rocks. Large rocks and several hundred yards up hill. Making our way up and down to the next branch we continued on. Up hill, and up hill, and when we thought was to the top we went up some more.

Here is where I began to get really ill. Throwing up once, then again. We took a break for a minute and I thought I could continue. On we went...continuing still up hill. We got to the part of the trail where it turned west and headed towards Big Dog Branch. My heart was pounding and I was concerned that something could possibly be going on more than just dehydration. I talked to my friend and we made a decision to go straight in stead of continuing on.

We came to a home place and stopped and I made a phone call and had my ride head to pick us up. We continued on to Floyd Cemetery and waited for them to pick us up. Thankyou to our rescue team Sherry and Austin.

I will be back, to start where we left off and continue south on the trail. Where I suspect will be the some of the prettiest sections of the trail. I just hope the ATV use hasn't ruined it for everyone. Till then, everyone be safe, and have fun.

See ya' on down the trail.

-Tony

Here is some video footage of our adventure.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page